top of page

Moving on

Previously, I pondered the word 'last'. Now my mind turns, full of hope and lacking sleep, to the word 'first'. After all, we are leaving the first house we ever owned today. And there are so many firsts ahead of us. Today it will be the first time we have travelled such a distance with cats in the car. Somehow, I expect it will also be the last time. I wonder what our first night in our new home will be like. Or our first day, week, month and year. When will we meet the neighbours for the first time? What will be our first delivery? (I'm guessing mail.) Which box will we unpack first? (My guess is bedding.) Which project will we choose to do first to make this new house our own? Which one of us will get injured first (likely me, but then again, there will be tools involved) and who will do the first aid? Hopefully we won't need our first ambulance. Looking further ahead, how will our first spring, summer or fall go? Who will be our first guest? (I am hoping our son Steve and his girlfriend Jess.) When will I host my first Beta Sigma Phi meeting and how will it go? When will we welcome our many family members and friends for their first visits? (Not too soon, we have lots of redecorating to do!) In this house we will have our first furnace, first central air system and first sprinkler system. It will also be our first mail delivery to our door in our adult lives! We will celebrate our first holidays in the house, starting with Valentine's and circling around to New Year 2019. There will be so many firsts. And I am excited for each and every one! So, farewell Kincardine. Chatham, here we come! At last.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page