top of page

Welcome Fall 2021

WIN A MAGNET JUST FOR SUBSCRIBING!

Congratulations to Angie Church, the winner of the last newsletter's drawing.


I'm doing it again this time too! All subscribers who haven't already won will be entered in the random draw. The winner will be contacted by e-mail for his or her contact information and choice of magnet. Good luck!


PROGRESS REPORT

Say It Isn't So, Joe, the first novel in the Haunted and Harassed Paranormal Mystery series, took a back seat to life in August and September. Between the oppressive heat making me want to do little but read and nap, and nerves over the upcoming wedding of my son and his fiancé, I didn't get much done.

I did work on it a bit, however. I'm hoping that what is turning out to be a detailed outline will be done by the end of October, in time to write the full first draft for NaNoWriMo in November..


Cozy Mystery series news.

I've removed all of my cozies from Kindle Unlimited


The Travel Writer Cozy Mystery series and the prequel to the Haunted and Harassed Paranormal Cozy Mystery series have been removed completely from KU. I am considering making the series available on other platforms, but cannot do that while Amazon has me locked in for 90 day periods. Wish me luck!

All of my other books remain enrolled in the KU program.


In other news, I have been given an exception as a self-published author to join the Crime Writers of Canada! Normally, they don't accept self-published writers, but as my books have some five star reviews on Amazon, they are going to accept me! It will be official in October.

So, as you see, REVIEWS MAKE A DIFFERENCE!


Need something to do on a rainy fall day?

Why not try your hand at puzzles made of my book covers?

You can find the fun on my page at Jigsaw Planet, by clicking Here.


Interested in a new cozy series?

Check out one of my favourite authors, Jana DeLeon.


New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jana DeLeon was raised in southwest Louisiana among the bayous and gators. She has two series that are laugh out loud funny, and just plain fun to read - the Miss Fortune series and the Ghost-in-Law series. Both are set in the bayous of Louisiana - along with a few others you might want to check out on her website.

For more information, visit her website here, or on Facebook.


My younger son was finally married on September 5, after a year postponement due to the pandemic, and the wedding was held at Queen's Landing in Niagara on the Lake, Ontario. I was thrilled to find this library at the hotel, and just had to have my photo taken in it. I believe it will be my author photo for the foreseeable future.


Please feel free to engage on my Facebook page, or on Twitter, or to share this email to anyone you think may be interested by using the icons below.


If you are getting this newsletter from a friend, you can sign up here .



Kelly's Writing Tips #4

Listen.

While this is good advice for life in general, as a writer you can hear great things all around you that can be used in your stories. And if people are just saying things out where anyone can hear them, that makes their anecdotes fair game.



I hope you enjoy your fall. For my Canadian readers, have a Happy Thanksgiving, and for my North American readers, enjoy a safe and fun Halloween!

Thanks for reading.

Kelly Young

Member of Sisters in Crime, Beta Sigma Phi.

September 21, 2021

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page