top of page

Midsummer 2021

Midsummer 2021 Newsletter WIN A MAGNET JUST FOR SUBSCRIBING! Congratulations to Candy Kennedy, the winner of the last newsletter's drawing. I'm doing it again this time too! All subscribers will be entered in the random draw. The winner will be contacted by e-mail for his or her contact information and choice of in-stock magnet. Good luck! PROGRESS REPORT Say It Isn't So, Joe I've come up with a new plan As those who know me are aware, I read a lot. So much so that sometimes I forget to write! So I've come up with a new plan. From now on, I resolve to write at least one chapter between books that I read. So far it's going well! The first draft of the new book is up to Chapter 12! I've also decided to switch back to my original, and real, author name for the series. Throw a vote my way? The cover of Lethal Shot on Flowerpot is in the running for AllAuthors cover of the month Over at AllAuthors, my cover - featuring my own photo of the flowerpot for which the island is famous - is up for the coveted cover of the month. You can vote for it, once a week if it gets that far, by visiting Here First, all the selected entries will contest for the next round. (Duration 1st - 7th) Second, 100 top-voted covers will compete to enter the third round. (Duration 8th - 14th) Third, top 50 book covers from the previous round. (Duration 15th - 21st) Fourth, top 24 book covers will play the last round in the chase. (Duration 22nd - Month end) Cozy Mystery series news I've removed all of my cozies from Kindle Unlimited The Travel Writer Cozy Mystery series and the prequel to the Haunted and Harassed Paranormal Cozy Mystery series have been removed completely from KU. I wanted to join Canadian Crime Writers, but was told I couldn't because I'm self-published. However, they are going to review my case and let me know their decision sometime this month. If it's still a no, I will try to get a publisher to take on the series. But I cannot do that while Amazon has me locked in for 90 day periods with KU. Wish me luck! All of my other books remain enrolled in the KU program, for now. BookBub update I finally found out why I couldn't get full use of my account Apparently, only those living in the USA gets all of the benefits of the site, such as recommending books and leaving/getting reviews. So I made the difficult decision, upon a recommendation from site administrators, to change my country of residence to the USA. Worry not, I'm still in Canada. If you want to check out my page there, you can visit (and leave reviews I hope) BookBub. Book recommendation Check out one of my favourite authors, Ann Charles Ann is the mystery author of the critically acclaimed Deadwood series, the Jackrabbit Junction series, the Dig Site series, the Deadwood Undertaker series, and the AC Silly Circus series. You can find out about her excellent books by clicking on her name above. Kelly's Writing Tips #3 Don't go back and edit as you go. While writing your first draft, just plow your way through. It's, after all, just your first draft. If you're not sure what a character's name is going to be, just leave it blank to be filled in later. I often write *add description here* and move on. The little things can be filled out in the second draft or even later. A first draft isn't any good unless you finish it. I hope you enjoy the rest of the summer! Thanks for reading. Kelly Young Member of Sisters in Crime, Beta Sigma Phi. August 3, 2021 Copyright © 2021 Young and Keele Press, All rights reserved.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page